North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services
View the most recent results of government surveys of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country.
This summary information identifies the types of problems found in nursing homes. You may find it easier to search by giving a city or county name, if you do not know the exact name of the nursing home. This allows you to review the survey results of all the nursing homes in the city or county you identify. This web page (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) has other useful information including links to frequently asked questions and a guide for choosing a nursing home.
Nursing homes are healthcare facilities that provide nursing or convalescent care for three or more persons unrelated to the licensee. A nursing home provides long term care for chronic medical conditions or short term convalescent or rehabilitative care of remedial ailments for which medical and nursing care are indicated. Most residents are older adults who need 24-hour nursing supervision and care following hospitalization.
All nursing homes must be licensed in accordance with North Carolina State law by the North Carolina Division of Health Service Regulation Nursing Home Licensure and Certification Section (919) 855-4520. There are over 400 nursing homes in North Carolina (list of Nursing Homes).
The Division of Health Service Regulation regulates the number and
location of nursing homes within North Carolina through the Certificate
of Need program. Nursing homes that wish to receive Medicare
and Medicaid reimbursement
must be certified in accordance with federal law. These certification
inspections are conducted by the Division of Health Service Regulation
Nursing Home Licensure and Certification Section. The Division of Health
Service Regulation also has a Complaint Intake Unit which investigates
regulatory complaints within nursing homes (919) 855-4500. Facilities
that violate licensure rules or the certification standards can be subject
to sanctions, including fines. The Division of Health Service Regulation
also maintains the North
Carolina Health Care Personnel Registry. This new on-line site is
designed to assist individuals and facilities who wish to access the
Nurse Aide I, Medication Aide and Health Care Personnel Registry databases
for pre-employment verification of an applicant's credentials.
In addition to the licensure and certification requirements, nursing homes must also honor the Nursing Home Patient's Bill of Rights. These rights are designed to promote and protect the well-being of nursing home residents. While the Division of Health Service Regulation is responsible for ensuring regulatory compliance within nursing homes, the Long Term Care Ombudsman Program advocates on behalf of nursing home residents and provides a variety of services and assistance to nursing home residents, families, and providers.
Funding options for nursing home care include: private funding, long-term care insurance, Medicare and Medicaid. Paying for nursing home care is a major concern for many families as well as the government. Residents and their families pay a substantial part of the cost, which in 2012 averaged about $7,500 per month. Historically, Medicaid has paid for about half of the total cost of nursing home care, with Medicare and private long term care insurance paying but a fraction of the cost. There is also an alternative to nursing home care. One such program is the Community Alternatives Program for Disabled Adults (CAP-DA).
Last updated July 1, 2013