Trauma

North Carolina has developed an inclusive trauma system that is organized, multi-disciplinary and evidence-based in its approaches to providing quality care and improving measurable outcomes for all defined injured patients.

EMS, hospitals, other health systems and clinicians participate in defined roles with leadership, advocacy, injury prevention, education, clinical care, performance improvement and research resulting in integrated trauma care.

Contact Information

For general questions regarding North Carolina's Trauma System, send an email to dhsr.nc.trauma@dhhs.nc.gov.

Trauma Center and Registry Contacts (PDF, 86 KB)

Stakeholders

The following organizations and groups have an interest in North Carolina's trauma program.

Brain Injury Association of North Carolina

Sandra Farmer, President
Triangle Center
P.O. Box 10912
Raleigh, NC 27602
Phone: 919-833-9634
Email: Sandra.Farmer@bianc.net
Web site: www.bianc.net

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Advisory Council
Jan White, TBI Prevention Coordinator & Prevention  Issues
Phone: 919-715-5989

Eastern Carolina Injury Prevention Program

Department of Emergency Medicine
East Carolina University
Vidant Medical Center
P.O. Box 6028
Greenville, NC 27835-6028
Phone: 252-847-8688
Fax: 252-847-7890
Web site: www.vidanthealth.com/vidant/ServicesDetail.aspx?id=195

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC)

McKenzie Beamer
North Carolina Office of EMS
2707 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2707
Phone: 919-855-3938
Cell: 919-218-8684
Email: McKenzie.Beamer@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/injrchld.htm

Kim Askew, M.D.
Chair, EMSC Advisory Committee
Department of Emerency Medicine
Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Phone: 336-716-4648

Governor's Highway Safety Program

Don Nail
215 East Lane Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: 919-733-3083
Email: dnail@ncdot.gov
Web site: www.ncdot.org/secretary/GHSP

N.C. Adult Care Licensure Section

Barbara Ryan, Chief
2708 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2708
Phone: 919-855-3765
Fax: 919-733-9379
Email: Barbara.Ryan@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/

N.C. Air Medical Alliance

Betsy S. Casanave, RN, BSN, MHA, CMTE, EMT
Director and Chief
Mobile Critical Care Services
WakeMed Health and Hospitals
900 Management Way
Garner, NC
Phone: 919-350-7889
Mobile: 919-795-0488
Email: bcasanave@wakemed.org

N.C. Association of EMS Administrators

Joe Lord, Chairman
Cleveland County EMS
P.O. Box 1210
Shelby, NC 28151
Phone: 704-484-4984
Fax: 919-739-5989
Email: jlord@ncaemsa.org
Web site: www.ncaemsa.org

N.C. Associations of Paramedics

Danny C. West, NREMT-P
6110 Poplin Road
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Phone: 704-995-7109
Email: dwest@ci.charlotte.nc.us

Danny C. West, NREMT-Paramedic
EMS Coordinator
Charlotte Fire Department Training Academy

N.C. Association of Pharmacists

Fred Eckel, R Ph, Executive Director
109 Church Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: 919-967-2237
Fax: 919-968-9430
Email: fred@ncpharmacists.org
Web site: www.ncpharmacists.org

N.C. College of Emergency Physicians

Colleen Kochanek, Executive Director
P.O. Box 12946
Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone: 919-881-0872
Fax: 919-882-1563
Email: Colleen@KochanekLawGroup.com
Web site: www.nccep.org

N.C. Committee On Trauma

James Wyatt, III, M.D., Chairman
Director of Trauma Services
Moses Cone Memorial Hospital
1200 North Elm Street
Greensboro, NC 27401
Phone: 336-832-8854
Fax: 336-832-8855
Email: jay.wyatt@conehealth.com

Michele Jordan, Administrative Assistant
Email: Michele.Jordan@conehealth.com

N.C. Division of the American Trauma Society (ATS)

P.J. Schenarts, M.D., President
Pitt County Memorial Hospital
P.O. Box 6028, 2100 Stantonsburg Rd.
Greenville, NC 27835-6028
Phone: 252-847-4299
Email: pschenar@pcmh.com

Gail Kluttz, R.N., Executive Director
Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
Trauma Services
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Phone: 336-722-1828
Fax: 336-716-7188
Email: prts2000@hotmail.com
Web site: www.ncats.org

N.C. Division of Emergency Management

Doug Hoell, Director
4713 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4713
Phone: 919-733-3825
Fax: 919-733-5406
24 Hour Emergency Phone: 1-800-858-0368
Web site: www.ncem.org

N.C. Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services

Jim Jarrad, Acting Director
3001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001
Phone: 919-733-7011
Fax: 919-508-0951
Email: Jim.Jarrad@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncdhhs.gov/mhddsas

N.C. Division of Public Health

Laura Gerald, MD, MPH
State Health Director
Director, Division of Public Health
5605 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Phone: 919-707-5000
Fax: 919-870-4829
Email: Laura.Gerald@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncpublichealth.com

N.C. Emergency Nurses Association

Terri Freidhoff, BSN, RN
NC ENA State President
Email: tfreidhoff@gmail.com
Web site: www.nc-ena.com

N.C. Hospitals Association

P.O. Box 4449
Cary, NC 27519
Phone: 19-677-4213
Website: www.ncha.org

Don Dalton, Vice President, Public Relations
2400 Weston Parkway
Cary, NC 27513
Phone: 919-677-4243
Email: ddalton@ncha.org

N.C. Medical Society

Robert W. Seligson, Executive VP, CEO
P.O. Box 27167
Raleigh, NC 27611
Phone: 919-833-3836
Fax: 919-833-2023
Email: rseligson@ncmedsoc.org
Web site: www.ncmedsoc.org

N.C. Nursing Home Licensure and Certification Section

Beverly Speroff, Chief
2711 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2711
Phone: 919-855-4520
Email: Beverly.Speroff@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/nhlcs/

N.C. Office of Rural Health and Community Care

Jay Kennedy, MHA
Rural Hospital Program Manager
311 Ashe Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27606
Phone: 919-527-6467
Toll Free: 800-533-8847
Fax: 919-715-1503
Email: Jay.Kennedy@dhhs.nc.gov
Web site: www.ncdhhs.gov/orhcc/

UNC Highway Safety Research Center

David L. Harkey, P.E., Director
University of North Carolina
CB#3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: 919-962-8705
Email: David_Harkey@unc.edu
Web site: www.hsrc.unc.edu

UNC Injury Prevention Research Center

Carol Runyan, MPH, Ph.D., Director
Injury Prevention Research Center
University of North Carolina
Bank of America Bldg., Suite 500
137 E. Franklin Street
Campus Box 7505
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7505
Phone: 919-966-2251
Web site: www.iprc.unc.edu

NC Office of Emergency Medical Services