General Information

The purpose of the Commission is:

This twenty-one member Commission (11 voting public and 10 non-voting ex-officio) is appointed by the Governor and is empowered to promulgate rules to be followed in the administration of a radiation protection program. Through the active use of their committees, they advise the Department of Health and Human Services in the development of comprehensive policies and programs for the evaluation, determination, and reduction of hazards associated with the use of radiation.

Rule Actions

Periodic Review of Existing Rules

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1645

Physical Address: One Crosspointe Plaza, 5505 Creedmoor Road, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27612

Telephone Number: 919-814-2250

Meeting Schedule

Note: The meeting scheduled on February 27, 2015 has been cancelled due to potentially adverse weather conditions. The meeting has been rescheduled for Wednesday, March 25, 2015. (PDF, 198 KB)

Dates Locations
March 25, 2015 Division of Health Service Regulation
801 Biggs Drive
Brown Building - Conference Room 104
Raleigh, N.C.
July 31, 2015 Division of Health Service Regulation
801 Biggs Drive
Brown Building - Conference Room 104
Raleigh, N.C.

The meetings begin at 10:00 a.m. If you have any questions about the meetings, please contact the N.C. Radiation Protection Commission at 919-814-2250.

Members of the North Carolina Radiation Protection Commission

The North Carolina Radiation Protection Commission has 21 members appointed by the Governor.

Voting Members
Carmine M. Plott, PhD, CHP, Chair State-At-Large
Wayne R. Thomann, DrPH, Vice-Chair Hospital Administrator
Holly J. Burge, M.D. N.C. Medical Society
Elizabeth M. Franklin, MS, DABMP, DABR  N.C. Society of Radiologic Technologist
Michael J. Hodos, DPM N.C. Board of Podiatry Examiners
Jerome Hightower, III, MS, DABMP Environmental Protection Field
David J. DeMaster, Ph.D. Scientist or Engineer from University Faculty
Larry E. Haynes, CHP Public Utility Generating Power by Atomic Energy
Allen M. Mabry, CHP Experience in Atomic Energy Field Other Than Power Generation
John B. Ludlow, DDS, MS, FDSRCS Ed N.C. Dental Society
Marc S. Gottlieb, D.C. N.C. Chiropractic Association
Ex-Officio Members
Robert K. Andrews, Jr., CSP N.C. Department of Transportation
James E. Geddie, PhD N.C. Department of Labor
Bryan A. Strickland N.C. Industrial Commission
Vacant N.C. Environment Management Commission
W. Lee Cox, III DHSR/Radiation Protection
Roy Ericson N.C. Utilities Commission
Christopher B. Taylor N.C. Medical Care Commission
Chris G. Hoke, JD N.C. Commission for Public Health
Suzanne Taylor N.C. Department of Insurance
Michael A. Sprayberry N.C. Emergency Management