Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services

DSM-5, ASAM and ICD-10

The DSM-5 (Diagostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the 2013 update to the American Psychiatric Association's classification and diagnostic tool.

Resources and Links DSM-5

Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5

"From DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5 What Specifically is Changing?"
A workshop presented by
Sy Saeed, M.D., FACPsych,
Professor and Chairman
Department of Psychiatric Medicine
Brody School of Medicine--East Carolina University

The ASAM Criteria

The ASAM Criteria: Treatment Criteria for Addictive, Substance –Related, and Co-Occurring Conditions, Third Edition was published in October 2013.  According to the American Society of Addiction Medicine, the new manual is a user-friendly guide to understanding the core principles, processes and procedures in the ASAM criteria.  This new manual is also compatible with the DSM-5.  All clinical policies, rules, protocols, etc. are updated in this new manual. 

The implementation date for The ASAM Criteria Third Edition will be August 1, 2014.  The use of ASAM is required for both the Division of Mental Health Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services and the Division of Medical Assistance in the determination of levels of care for substance abuse services. 

ICD-10 Information

The deadline to comply with ICD-10 has been extended to October 1, 2015. Ready NC Connect NC