Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services

Advocacy and Customer Service

Local Consumer and Family Advisory Committee (CFAC)

Consumer and Family Advisory Committees (CFACS) are required by NC General Statute 122C-170 for each Local Management Entity (LME).  Membership consists of microsoft image adults and family members of individuals who receive services for mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse.  The terms for members shall be three years, and no member may serve more than two consecutive terms.  A local CFAC shall be a self-governing and a self-directed organization that advises the governing board of the area authority or county program on the planning and management of the local public mental health, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse services system.  To find the Consumer and Family Advisory Committee in your county, review the county listing at



Alamance Caswell CFAC


Mecklenburg CFAC

Alliance Behavioral Health CFAC


Mental Health Partners CFAC

CenterPoint CFAC



Crossroads CFAC


Sandhills CFAC

East Carolina Behavioral Health CFAC


Smoky Mountain CFAC

Eastpointe CFAC


Coastal Care CFAC

Guilford Center


Western Highlands Network CFAC

Johnston County CFAC



CFACs Become Law

S.L. 2006-142 Section 5 Local CFACs

Communication Bulletin #59

The Statute Power Point
(Powerpoint Read Only)

Distinction between CFAC and Human Rights Committee

CFAC Communication Protocols

Recruitment Strategies

Leadership Training for Consumer and Family Advisory Committees (CFACs)

2008 Program

2008 PowerPoints


Information on the State Consumer and Family Advisory Committee (SCFAC)

CFAC Training Reports



Return to top


State of North Carolina Home Page