1 2 Rule 10A NCAC 28F .0101 is proposed for amendment as follows.

3 10A NCAC 28F .0101 REGIONS FOR DIVISION INSTITUTIONAL ADMISSIONS

4 (a) Except as otherwise provided in rules codified in this Chapter and Chapters 26 through 29 of this Title and

5 except for State-wide programs and cross-regional admissions approved by the Division Director based upon the

6 clinical need of the individual or for the purpose of accessing available beds or services, a person seeking admission

7 to a regional institution of the Division shall be admitted only to the institution which serves the region of the state

8 which includes the person's "county of residence" as defined in G.S. 122C-3.

9 (b) For state operated facilities, hospitals and developmental centers, the regions of the state and the counties which 10 constitute the regions are as follows:

- Western Region: Broughton Hospital, Julian F. Keith Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Center
 (ADATC), and J. Iverson Riddle Developmental Center shall serve Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe,
 Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson,
 Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell,
 Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union,
 Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey County;
- Central Region: Central Regional Hospital, Murdoch Developmental Center, R. J. Blackley
 ADATC, Whitaker School, Psychiatric Residential Treatment Program (PRTF), and Wright School
 shall serve Alamance, Anson, Caswell, Chatham, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville,
 Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph,
- 21 Richmond, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Wake, and Warren County; and
- (3) Eastern Region: Cherry Hospital, Caswell Developmental Center, and Walter B. Jones ADATC
 shall serve Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven,
 Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston,
- Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender,
 Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson County.
- 27 (c) For state-operated Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Centers (ADATCs) the regions of the state and the
- 28 <u>counties which constitute the regions are as follows:</u>
- 29 (1) Western Region: Julian F. Keith ADATC shall serve Alleghany, Alexander, Anson, Ashe, Avery,

30 Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston,

31 Graham, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg,

32 Mitchell, Montgomery, Polk, Randolph, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union,

- 33 Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey County;
- 34 (2) Eastern Region: Walter B. Jones ADATC shall serve Alamance, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen,
- 35 Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare,
- 36 Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston,
- 37 Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank,

1	Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Washington,	
2	Wayne, and Wilson County.	
3		
4		
5	History Note:	Authority G.S. 122C-3; 143B-147; <u>S.L. 2023-3;</u>
6		Eff. February 1, 1976;
7		Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; April 1, 1990; July 1, 1983;
8		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 24,
9		<u>2019.2019;</u>
10		Temporary Amended Eff.
11		