Additional Resources

The Safe Surrender Law in North Carolina aims to reduce potential harm to newborns if their parents are in crisis or have no other way to care for them. Below are some resources for parents who may need additional support:

NC Medicaid, Income, and Reproductive Health Services

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/assistance

National Domestic Violence Hotline

1-800-799-7233

NC Coalition Against Domestic Violence

https://nccadv.org/

NC CARE 360

https://nccare360.org/

Call 911 if there is an Emergency



NCDHHS

Mailing Address: 2001 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699

Physical Address: 101 Blair Drive Raleigh NC 27603

Administrative Assistance: 919-855-4800

Safe Surrender of Infants in NC





North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services



Legal Safe Surrender

The law provides parents in crisis, or who may feel they have no other choice to care for their infant, a way to surrender their newborn safely, legally, and anonymously. Generally, for a Safe Surrender to be considered legal:

- The infant must be surrendered by a parent to one of the designated safe persons:
 - (1) A health care provider, as defined under G.S. 90-21.11, who is on duty or at a hospital or at a local or district health department or at a nonprofit community health center OR
 (2) A first responder, including a law
 - enforcement officer, a certified emergency medical services worker, or a firefighter OR (3) A social services worker who is on
 - duty or at a local department of social services.

AND

 The infant must be determined by a medical professional to be 30 days old or younger and free from abuse or neglect.

Surrendering Parents

The designated safe person who receives your baby may ask about your identity and related medical information. This is to help facilitate an adoption and give your baby beneficial information for their future.

You should also be advised that you are <u>not</u> required to give any information. Your confidentiality will be maintained except for purposes of communication with:

- The non-surrendering parent, if identified
- Known medical providers who provided treatment to your baby prior to the safe surrender
- Law enforcement for the purposes of a missing child assessment or court order.

You may request the health information form DSS-XXXX or find it at https:// policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/socialservices/forms and mail it to the local department of Social Services at a later time if you wish to provide additional information.

The designated safe person is required to keep your baby safe and warm and to call the local department of Social Services. The goal is to have your baby checked by a medial professional right away and to facilitate a safe and loving adoption as quickly as possible.

If you are in need of any medical assistance please seek it out or call 911 in the case of an emergency.

A surrendering parent may always contact the local department of Social Services for information and services available. There are other ways for parents to give their baby a safe and secure future. Agencies can help you with prenatal care, arranging for the birth, financial resources or arranging for the adoption of your child to a safe and loving home.

Non-Surrendering Parents

The local department of Social Services is required to make attempts to locate the baby's non-surrendering parent to request permission for adoption or allow the non-surrendering parent to take the child.

Within 14 days of the Safe Surrender the department will post a notification in local newspapers for no less than 3 weeks.

Non-surrendering parents have rights to their child when:

Parentage can be confirmed through marriage or genetic marker testing, of 97% or higher provided by the department

AND

The non-surrendering parent asserts their parental rights to their child.

AND

There is no cause to suspect the infant is an abused, neglected, or dependent juvenile by the non-surrendering parent.



Any parent who hears of a surrendered infant and believes it may be theirs should come forward. The best way to identify yourself is to contact your local department of Social Services